Oil Kings announce award winners, record setters for 2019-20 season


The Edmonton Oil Kings announced their annual award winners, as well as single-season records set during the 2019-20 Western Hockey League regular season on Wednesday.

Finishing the shortened 64-game regular season with a 42-12-6-4 record, the Oil Kings were named Central Division Regular Season Champions for the fifth time in modern franchise history, and Eastern Conference Regular Season Champions for the fourth occasion.

The Oil Kings saw the lowest number of regulation losses in a season with 12, with the previous mark of 15 being registered in 2011-12 and 2012-13 (72 games).

Dylan Guenther set new franchise records of goals scored by a rookie (26), surpassing the previous high of 24 by Trey Fix-Wolansky in 2016-17, and points by a rookie (59), eclipsing the previous mark of 55 by Martin Gernat (2011-12).

Sebastian Cossa set four new bests in single-season goaltending statistics, including most wins by a rookie (21)since Laurent Brossoit (13) in 2010-11, as well as establishing a new high for shutouts by a rookie with four, passing the previous mark of three by Tyler Santos in 2013-14.

His 2.23 goals against average in 33 games narrowly edged the mark of 2.24 set by Tristan Jarry in 63 games in 2013-14 (minimum 30 games played). Cossa’s .921 save percentage finished four points higher than that of Laurent Brossoit (.917) set in 49 games in 2012-13 (also minimum 30 games played).

The 2019-20 Edmonton Oil Kings award winners are as follows:

The regular season success of the 2019-20 Edmonton Oil Kings squad can largely be attributed to the depth of skill, hard work and tenacity of the entire team, but the honour of Most Valuable Player is awarded to defenceman Matthew Robertson. READ MORE>

The team’s leading scorer for the 2019-20 season was veteran forward, Riley Sawchuk. READ MORE>

The Oil Kings MVP, Matthew Robertson, was also awarded the honour of Top Defenceman for the 2019-20 season. READ MORE>

Oil Kings forward and Edmonton native Dylan Guenther showcased exactly why he was selected first overall in the 2018 WHL Bantam Draft with a 2019-20 campaign that earned him Rookie of the Year honours. READ MORE>

The Most Improved Award for the 2019-20 season was convincingly earned by forward Jake Neighbours. READ MORE>

Not only did Jake Neighbours impress on the ice during his first NHL Draft eligible season, he excelled in the classroom and is recognized as the Oil Kings Scholastic Player of the Year. READ MORE>

The Oil Kings winner of the Humanitarian of the Year Award is defenceman Ethan Cap. READ MORE>

Overage forward Ethan McIndoe was the hands-down choice as this year’s recipient of the Kristians Pelss Memorial Award. READ MORE>

The Blue Willow Unsung Hero for the 2019-20 season is Fort McMurray, AB native, Sebastian Cossa. READ MORE>

More News
Party like it's 2014: Watch the Oil Kings vs. Storm Memorial Cup Final on June 6
19 hours ago
CHL to announce 2019-20 award winners May 28 to June 10
19 hours ago
Alumni Update: Trey Fix-Wolansky
2 days ago
VIDEO: Quarantine Corner - WHL Draft Recap
1 week ago
WHL Awards Interview: Dylan Guenther - WHL Rookie of the Year
2 weeks ago
Dylan Guenther named recipient of Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy as WHL Rookie of the Year
2 weeks ago