Oil Kings’ Lauer named WHL Eastern Conference Coach of the Year

On April 13, 2020, the Western Hockey League announced that Edmonton Oil Kings head coach Brad Lauer has been named the WHL Eastern Conference Coach of the Year and nominee for the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy (WHL Coach of the Year) presented by McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks.

Lauer led the Oil Kings to a WHL Central Division-best record of 42-12-6-4 (94 points) in only his second season behind the bench in Edmonton. A 53-year-old native of Humboldt, SK, Lauer looks to become the first coach in Edmonton Oil Kings history to be named WHL Coach of the Year after his Oil Kings finished third in the WHL at the conclusion of the 2019-20 WHL regular season.

WHL Eastern and Western Conference Coaches of the Year are voted upon annually by WHL General Managers and Head Coaches. The winner of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for WHL Coach of the Year will be announced on Thursday, May 7.

The Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for WHL Coach of the Year is presented annually to the WHL coach who has had the greatest impact upon his Club’s performance during the WHL Regular Season. The trophy is named in memory of Dunc McCallum, the legendary Brandon Wheat Kings Head Coach, who was twice named WHL Coach of the Year while building the Wheat Kings into a WHL powerhouse in the 1970s. From 1976 to 1981, McCallum compiled an impressive regular season record of 251-123-41 while behind the bench of the Wheat Kings.

Winners of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy / WHL Coach of the Year (since 2000):
2018-19: Marc Habscheid, Prince Albert Raiders
2017-18: Manny Viveiros, Swift Current Broncos
2016-17: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2015-16: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2014-15: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2013-14: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2012-13: Ryan McGill, Kootenay ICE
2011-12: Jim Hiller, Tri-City Americans
2010-11: Don Nachbaur, Spokane Chiefs
2009-10: Mark Holick, Kootenay ICE
2008-09: Don Hay, Vancouver Giants
2007-08: Don Nachbaur, Tri-City Americans
2006-07: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE
2005-06: Willie Desjardins, Medicine Hat Tigers
2004-05: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE
2003-04: Kevin Constantine, Everett Silvertips
2002-03: Marc Habscheid, Kelowna Rockets
2001-02: Bob Lowes, Regina Pats
2000-01: Brent Sutter, Red Deer Rebels
1999-00: Todd McLellan, Swift Current Broncos

More News
Canadian Hockey League launches Memorial eCup
22 hours ago
WHL regular season scheduled to open Friday, Jan. 8
1 month ago
Neighbours drafted 26th overall by St. Louis Blues
2 months ago
Edmonton to host back-to-back World Juniors
2 months ago
WHL announces adjusted start date for 2020-21 season
4 months ago
Oil Kings acquire draft picks from Everett for Abgrall
4 months ago