Brad Lauer named recipient of Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for WHL Coach of the Year

Watch more on Oil Kings TV >


Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today that Edmonton Oil Kings head coach Brad Lauer has been named the recipient of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy (WHL Coach of the Year) presented by McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks.

Lauer led the Oil Kings to a WHL Central Division-best record of 42-12-6-4 (94 points) in his second season behind the bench in Edmonton. Under the guidance of the 53-year-old native of Humboldt, SK, the Oil Kings have claimed back-to-back Central Division titles. In his two seasons behind the bench with the Oil Kings, they have compiled a record of 84-30-10-8 across 132 WHL regular season games. Lauer is the first head coach in Oil Kings history to win the award.

“As a proud partner of the WHL, McSweeney’s is proud to congratulate Brad Lauer of the Edmonton Oil Kings, winner of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy as WHL Coach of the Year,” said Kylie Landry, Brand Manager McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks.

The Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for WHL Coach of the Year is presented annually to the WHL coach who has had the greatest impact upon his Club’s performance during the WHL regular season. The trophy is named in memory of Dunc McCallum, the legendary head coach of the Brandon Wheat Kings who was twice named WHL Coach of the Year while building the Wheat Kings into a WHL powerhouse in the 1970’s. From 1976 to 1981, McCallum compiled an impressive regular season record of 251-123-41 while behind the bench of the Wheat Kings.

As the recipient of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy Presented by McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks, Lauer is now a nominee for the Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award as the Canadian Hockey League’s Coach of the Year.

RUNNER UP: Dennis Williams, Everett Silvertips

Winners of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy / WHL Coach of the Year (since 2000):
2018-19: Marc Habscheid, Prince Albert Raiders
2017-18: Manny Viveiros, Swift Current Broncos
2016-17: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2015-16: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2014-15: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2013-14: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2012-13: Ryan McGill, Kootenay ICE
2011-12: Jim Hiller, Tri-City Americans*
2010-11: Don Nachbaur, Spokane Chiefs
2009-10: Mark Holick, Kootenay ICE
2008-09: Don Hay, Vancouver Giants
2007-08: Don Nachbaur, Tri-City Americans
2006-07: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE
2005-06: Willie Desjardins, Medicine Hat Tigers*
2004-05: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE*
2003-04: Kevin Constantine, Everett Silvertips
2002-03: Marc Habscheid, Kelowna Rockets*
2001-02: Bob Lowes, Regina Pats*
2000-01: Brent Sutter, Red Deer Rebels*
1999-00: Todd McLellan, Swift Current Broncos

*Denotes CHL Coach of the Year recipient

More News
Canadian Hockey League launches Memorial eCup
22 hours ago
WHL regular season scheduled to open Friday, Jan. 8
1 month ago
Neighbours drafted 26th overall by St. Louis Blues
2 months ago
Edmonton to host back-to-back World Juniors
2 months ago
WHL announces adjusted start date for 2020-21 season
4 months ago
Oil Kings acquire draft picks from Everett for Abgrall
4 months ago